Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

There was a process, you had to have a new enough client to get prompted, and once prompted there was a later option available for some amount of time before you were roadblocked. So if you were running an older version, the question becomes when did that version expire, forcing an upgrade to a version with the prompt, and then how long did you have from there to accept the terms. And, if you had an eligible account, you had 30 days after accepting the terms to opt out of the sharing.

You could probably look at the many news articles that were written back then to get some idea of the timelines. Although, most news articles weren't written with the perspective of delaying terms acceptance as much as possible.

(Also, I had meant to say I didn't recall the specific deadlines... There certainly were deadlines given specific circustances of each account)



Is there a way to check what option is enabled on my account? Sharing or not sharing?


AFAIK, it's in the GDPR report, but was never visible otherwise (including when the opt out was offered; once you opted out, you couldn't opt in or confirm that you opted out)




Consider applying for YC's Winter 2027 batch! Applications are open till November 2.

Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: