Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

Block used to be a mute. You "block someone" you no longer see them nor get pinged by them. But they can still reply to you and I believe you can still respond to them if you go out of your way to find the comment.

This was how it was until ~2 years ago. Then it turned into some intermediate step where you opted out of interacting with them at all but you can still see the comment chain by default. The blocked user was simply collapsed, but you can expand it and see everything. i.e. it ruined the point of a "mute".

Then almost a year ago it became what you describe. You still see collapsed blocked users, and you still can't respond, but the user can no longer respond to you nor any child in your chain.

I hate it and simply want a "mute". I don't care if someone wants to yell at a wall. The announcement seemed poorly revceived by comments, but they still kept it around to this day.



Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: