Thanks! Yep author here -- you can fully reformat with `restorekit restore` or just restore the firmware (retaining the user disk) with `restorekit revive`. This is what apple calls these two different actions, but I found the naming a bit confusing when I first started looking into this too.
Open to any suggestions on how to make this clearer!
> Reformat any Apple Silicon (M series) mac from macOS, linux or windows with a single command.
and it's only a little lower, in less prominent text,that it says:
> lets you fully wipe or restore a T2 or M series macbook
I think one is safe, one is dangerous, and it would be good to make the capability for both clear. I would personally put them in the order safe-then-dangerous in text, too, 'lets you restore (safe for user data) or fully wipe a T2 or M-series MacBook...'.
Open to any suggestions on how to make this clearer!