Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

I do want to remove my account there.

But when I was doing it, I got a big warning that anyone could come up and register that handle for themselves. So I instead ended up just deleting every post, my personal details, and left the account alone (not using it anymore).

I know they do this intentionally (it's bad intentions all over the place on social networks nowadays, except HN, of course).

I'm terrified of somebody else just creating the account with the same handle I used to have, and impersonate me across old friends and contacts.

What do you suggest?



You can just inform your friends that you will be deleting your twitter account


That doesn't work. Many people following me on Twitter only know me from Twitter and I don't have other means to reach out. Some others I'm not even interested in talking to them (not friends, just ex co-workers, ex gf, etc).


Pin a post that you leave X (or any major SM): say its your last post because they have become a greedy, amoral cesspool and add links where they can find you instead.


How does that even work if I'm removing my account?


You’ve said you won’t because you want to protect the name?


oh yes, that's what I did. But I'd want to completely remove it, but having others not being able to reuse the same username later.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: