I did change the readme to point to the new mainline development. I still think there might be some utility in having the code as I left it around, so I didn't delete the repo.
Deleting your repo and recreating it as a fork of the new upstream may be a good idea, although it does break the links to all of the other repositories forked from yours. It really would be nice if Github handled this case better.