I believe it's intentional (for privacy/usability reasons), so that it's always clear which account's emails you are reading and which you are replying to.
I don't think it's a technical issue.
In general Google tends to keep accounts siloed, if for no other reason than that different accounts is the solution recommended to people who want to silo things.